The bougainvillea handles pruning well, however, and, as a branch experiences blooms that have faded, it should be cut back to encourage others to grow. I'm new at growing bougainvillea and needed to know if it can live in a. Instead start the pruning process in the spring to give the bougainvillea plant a whole season to grow. References Training Your Bougainvillea Bonsai. The startling colors of the plant are actually from bracts or modified leaves, not flowers as they appear. ", "Timing to prune Bougainvillea was helpful. First of all, I make sure my pruners are clean & sharp. ", spread on a frame and flowered well. Pruning before the beginning of a new cycle allows the vine to produce vigorous new growth. I am now going to follow your instructions for pinching back new growth. Yes. The famous Kew gardens were instrumental in the propagation and spread of the plants. Try a variety of shapes and forms when pruning bougainvillea. This could result in a lack of new blooms. Plants need time to rejuvenate and start another growing cycle . The above ground and underground portions of your bonsai … They are sturdy plants. But I put it outside and night temps dropped to 48F and all blooms died. Bougainvillea pruning for hedges is severe, but usually the plants are trained to trellises or other vertical supports and need minimal pruning in early spring to enhance growth. What is wrong? Good Evening Everyone, Below is a picture of my Bougainvilla I bought about 3 months ago from a local nursery. Thanks! This generally means tip pruning and light topping to minimize ranginess. Can I plant what I cut off it? Thank you. Prune your bonsai once a month during its growing season, removing only a little at a time. The care of Bougainvillea Bonsai includes trimming at regular intervals. Trimming bougainvilleas yields cuttings that were rooted and grown on for new specimens. The fertilizer should be rich in magnesium, iron and phosphorus. Sign up for our newsletter. Shocked or nipp